The Brush Bar & Cleaners

Brush Board, by The Brush Bar

Recently, I got my hands on a new product. When you hear the word exfoliator you probably think, that’s not a new thing. But, have you ever tried one for your brushes? I was sick of drenching my brushes and not really getting out all the built up makeup. When i saw this board I decided to give it a try. I ordered it and it came within 2 days. The second i got it, it was time for a cleaning. I took my unicorn brushes, oval brushes, large fans, and small eyeliner ones among others. Below, you can see my experience with the board.

You can order it here

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-12-48-17-pmFirst I placed down my makeup mat, next i gathered two glass bowls and poured my Japonesque liquid cleaner in one and water in the other.

As you can see, the board has six different cleaner sections.

I decided to try them all out. I gathered my brushes to see which section worked the best. Preview shown below ~~~

For smaller brushes, as seen in the second picture, the straight lines work magic. But, I found that for larger brushes, waves and the third picture shown above work best.

Turn Out?

Honestly I was worried at the beginning if my babies would still be soft afterwards, but they are left intact and soft as ever! I would highly recommend you to invest in this product. You can also buy a brush bar too; you can hang your brushes for optimal drying. Or you can purchase a care package for 50$. Either way, this is a great investment for your brushes.

Best Cleaners to Use

The one thing harder than finding the perfect brush set? A cleaner for that. Over the years ive tried a few methods; soaps, liquids, cloths, you name it ive done it. The two that I found, and swear by are the Japonesque Makeup Brush Cleaner  for normal brushes and the Beauty Blender, Solid  for my blenders and sponges. I will also include some of my ~Honorable Mentions.~

My Honorable Mentions, Top 5

Parian Spirit Cleanser, Only available in America for 32 oz. Quite affordable at 7 dollars. It has a sweet citrus smell but it is a little overpowering. If you are ok with a lasting smell then I would recommend this.

Chelsea Classical Studio cleaner. This is a lavender-scented beauty. One can appreciate the pretty outside. It works well, but its nothing stand out.

Real Techniques, I will say that I am not one for a gel cleaner. But this does work very well. A little really goes a long way with this gel. It’s not odor overpowering and does a deep clean.

Cinema Secrets Cleaner, this can range from a travel sized 2 ounce to a 32 ounce. The smell is not too overpowering and it nicely gets all makeup out but it leaves the brushes a tad bristly. After two weeks the bristly ness  goes away but I am an impatient person.

BECCA Professional Make-up Brush Soap, essentially this is the same as the beauty blender solid but this takes much longer to get the brush clean. If you have time, this works wonders.

Now for the Best

Japonesque

This is the cleaner that I used with my brush board.

Leaves your brushes just as soft, sometimes even softer. No Bristle damage and has a nice, but not too pungent citrus smell. Consistency of product is good and for the price of 30$ (32oz) it has a lot and is well worth the money. I also included A smaller spray version, a goat milk version or a solid for preference.

Beauty Blender; Solid- for your blenders.

images-4.jpgThis soap works wonders. Not just on your blenders, but on foundation sponges too (My favorite being from Sonia Kashuk) . The application is smooth and works to get out built up makeup. Water can make this sponge expand and then become somewhat makeup draining. But the soap keeps it from loosing its texture and shape. I originally bought mine off of the wish app, but you can find it at Sephora, amazon, or anywhere the beauty blender is sold. Below, I have included my pictures from my experience with this product. I would highly recommend this product if you love to keep your beauty babies clean.

Before & After

Leave a Reply

