Manus x machina

First off I would like to start my post by explaining my absence for the past couple of weeks. Right before my finals I was diagnosed with another concussion. My battle with mental health took its tole on me during the summer but i finally have the strength to continue blogging. I love it so much and I missed it.

During the summer I visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Unsurprisingly I ran straight to the fashion exhibit in my 3 inch heels, god bless myself for not tripping. It was quite breathtaking, all the dresses and designers of my childhood dreams in front of me. Within arms reach. It smelled like home and I felt in my place. With my outfit consisting of my new Chanel purse. The beautiful red inside, and soft, black buttery lambskin leather on the outside. (It still smells like heaven even though it is crammed with my Sephora receipts) I had my Grey suede booties with a 3 inch wood heel also known as my power heels. They clack and they mean business. I had it paired with my white silk blouse. Which is beautifully accented by pearls sewed on in an abstract patter and some killer black skinnies for pants. They make my non existent butt actually look like a butt. And finally a grey Chanel inspired necklace to tie it all in. I felt pretty bad*ss.

I roamed through the halls of the dimly lit exhibit, breathing in the Chanel, Dolce, Pret a Porter, and Dior among others. I honestly teared up. You could tell Mister Lagerfield had a magic fashion touch. Getting lost in the beads, chiffon, silk, and neoprene(questionable choice if you ask me). Below Ive included some pictures from the exhibit.

(pictures from MetMuseum.org).


The In style-

These are in, hot, and stunning.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 8.05.43 AM.png

This. This is where feathers went right. Its so gracefully styled but with a dark alluring twist. The first dress is a classic. Its elegant and leaves the mind to the imagination. It has a touch from every era. Chanel would be proud of this look. The second dress, is oh so sexy. You could wear this to a penthouse party, a restaurant, or a night out. If you want to wow and have some cash, give this a try.

 

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 9.46.22 AM.png

When you see these artificial flower dresses you wouldn’t think they had been coated in gelatin or anything odd for that matter. But this technique is what keeps the beauty alive. The intricately strewn in flowers on this design are, to be quite blunt, breathtaking. The bubble gum pink feels like a fairy tale. (Wishes that the British Royalty wears this at Pippa’s wedding) You look and feel like a modern princess in this garb. Now all you need a diamond tiara or one you can buy at target from the kids section if you’re really on a budget.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 9.58.22 AM.png  SO CLASSIC, I’M GOING TO CRY SPARKLES. This is thee Jackie Kennedy suit. Its oozes style and class. Just like the right pair of heels this suit lets people know you mean business and have an appetite for style.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 9.58.40 AM.png

 

 

Dear Beyonce, please wear this at the next red carpet. Thanks, Stella. The Lace work is so gorgeous. The color is soft and makes you look sexy but also innocent.

 

 


The Out style-

These need to be retired.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 8.05.35 AM.png

Ok, someone please explain to me what is going on here. It looks like a Turkey. All the matted feathers and weird forms. The first dress is like a raincoat of feather. What is its appeal? Someone please explain. Next, I have no words for this bird monstrosity… It looks like a marionette puppet gone wrong. The bottom of the dress started out lovely and well, the designer got tired with the rest. I appreciate the allure of the rose gold coloring, but I cant say there is much else going for it.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 9.58.46 AM.png

I can see how some people would find this a good idea because ~fashion~. But to some extent we need to stop ourselves from looking like a zombie bride. The lace work is pretty cool but i’m not quite sure what the designer was thinking at the waist.

Screen Shot 2016-09-14 at 9.46.28 AM.png

If you were aiming for a potato sack figure then here you go…

Leave a Reply

